The Mexican Saga: a poetic journey through the 20-count (edition 2011) by Elaine Stirling


I’ll be honest, at first I thought this poem was hard to follow because it jumped around, but once I got to the end of story it suddenly all made sense. Stirling’s word choices are beautiful, and easily allow the reader to create their on visual story as they read her words. The manner in which this piece is written, keeps the reader actively involved in the story. I would’ve liked for a pronunciation guide and glossary to have been included for the Spanish terms, but I’m sure that this stems from my love of language learning. Overall, I enjoyed the book and would recommend this quick read to readers who are both lovers and no lovers of poetry.

Leave a Reply

