Black Hippie Chick’s Interview with Janine Ashbless, Author of Named & Shamed


20120716-103546.jpg

Cover Blurb:
“Once upon a time . . . a naughty girl called Tansy stole a very precious manuscript from a kindly antiquarian. But all of the world’s ancient and powerful magic, lost for centuries, has returned – and now there is much more at stake than a few sheets of parchment.
Thus begins a rude and rugged fairytale the likes of which you NEVER read when you were little! Poor Tansy is led though the most pleasurable trials and the most shameful tribulations as her quest unfolds before her. Orgasmic joy and abject humiliation are laid upon Tansy in equal measure as she straddles the two worlds of magic and man.
From debauched dryads to oversexed ogres, fantasy and BDSM slither together to make Named & Shamed the consummate adult fable – all lusciously illustrated by John LaChatte. Immerse yourself in this dark and depraved fairy tale, and may all your endings be happy ever after!”

What made the you decide to combine BDSM and a fairytale, and was it easier or harder than they thought it would be?

When I was contacted by Sweetmeats Press and asked to write a book for them – the book that became Named and Shamed – I was given completely free rein as to subject, setting and sexual themes. However we quickly established that I’d be using some sort of fantasy element, as I do for all my full-length erotica work. And the editor encouraged me in that direction:

“I too used to play D&D as a kid, and I remember … all the goddesses, elves, and warrior women in their brass bikinis. And I always wished there were more stories about them doing rude things. So, if you want to write a book in which orcs, ogres and goblins drag unsuspecting pixies, elves and demi-goddesses back to their lair to do unspeakably pleasurable and magical things to them, I think that’s a great book!”

After that, the way forward seemed obvious. I’d already written a contemporary/paranormal novel (Wildwood, 2008, Black Lace) which ended with the heroine unleashing all the fairies, pagan gods and monsters of folklore back into an unprepared modern-day Britain. So I thought I’d set this new book after that event – “after Them There came back” as my main character Tansy would say. It would give me a tough and dark contemporary setting, in which normal society was crumbling and all the craziest creatures could come out and wreak havoc. Named and Shamed is not a direct sequel to Wildwood (the two don’t share any characters) but they are linked.

Fairies in traditional lore are not nice. They are not reasonable. They are not good. They might help mortals – or they might grind their bones to make bread. They are unpredictable, massively powerful beings, and humans are nearly helpless in comparison. In such an atmosphere of danger and threat, a BDSM plot fitted well.

I thought, “So Tansy’s a submissive. That’ll work.” But the second I started writing, I knew it was more specific than that. Tansy – smart, snarky and far from passive as she is – has a secret kink for humiliation and public disgrace. The pursuit of her quest into the fairytale realms will teach her just how much she loves the potent combination of sex and shame.

Did you do research on the BDSM lifestyle and if so, did they visit any of the clubs to observe scenes?

Named and Shamed isn’t a book about the “BDSM Scene” or “BDSM Lifestyle”. It uses BDSM themes in a wider fantasy setting. So research wasn’t really necessary. I have been to a fetish club though, in the past. I write about a variety of sexual practices, from vanilla to edgy, in my stories, so I like to know a bit about everything.

How do you decide on character names, and have you ever started to use a name and decided that it didn’t really fit with the character’s personality?

In Named and Shamed Tansy’s quest is to find the True Name of the fairy who has cursed her. If she can do that, she will free herself from his power.
I have a definite preference for unusual names, often Celtic ones. In real life I have a very uncommon name myself, and I like it that way! At college I knew a guy called Dunmail (after a British king in the Dark Ages) and I thought that was just the coolest thing ever – I do wish there was more variety in male names, especially.
When it comes to naming fictional characters I ask myself if they are “normal” people or heroic, nonconformist ones. I picture them in my mind’s eye and speak to them, and find which name shapes itself on my tongue. I use baby-name websites too, of course – I think all authors do.
I’ve never really written a character and regretted what I called them (even the short story with the long-distance runner called Miles, heh!). Though I once wrote a major character in a vampire novel, made him dumb and horny and malleable, and called him Jason. Then I saw True Blood and went “Ooops!” and rapidly re-named the poor guy. It was pure co-incidence, but it would have looked slack.
xxx
Janine Ashbless
Ways to Connect with Janine
http://sweetmeatspress.com/erotic_stories/illustrated_erotic_stories_named_shamed.html

Janine Ashbless has written books for Black Lace, Ellora’s Cave, Samhain, Mischief Books and Sweetmeats Press, as well as short stories for Spice, Cleis, Nexus and others. Her erotica has been described as “hardcore and literate.” Violet Blue called her “one of the hands-down masters of erotic writing.”

Buy Links:
1 Erotica e-books: 1eroticaebooks.com/erotica/named-and-shamed/prod_2896.html

1 Place for Romance
Place for Romance:http://1placeforromance.com/erotica/named-and-shamed/prod_7834.html


These e-versions include 19 interior illustrations by John LaChatte, as does the paperback:

Amazon UK:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Named-Shamed-Janine-Ashbless/dp/0957003781/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337623893&sr=1-3


Amazon US:
http://www.amazon.com/Named-Shamed-Janine-Ashbless/dp/0957003781/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337623953&sr=1-1
Named and Shamed is also available on Kindle (via Amazon sites), but without interior illustrations.

20120716-103613.jpg

5 thoughts on “Black Hippie Chick’s Interview with Janine Ashbless, Author of Named & Shamed

  1. Pingback: Black Hippie Chick’s Interview with the Characters from the Book Integration | Black Hippie Chick's Take On Books & The World

  2. Pingback: Black Hippie Chicks Take on The ABC’s of BDSM | Black Hippie Chick's Take On Books & The World

  3. Pingback: Heart Stopping Orgasm in Under 200 Words | A Bi-Submissive's Adventures in the Vanilla World

Leave a Reply

