Black Hippie Chick’s Interview of Lenore Skomal, author of Bluff


Black Hippie Chick’s Interview of Lenore Skomal, author of Bluff

BHC:Did you plan to be a writer or did it just happen?
Lenore: I was born writing. And knew from a very young age that this is how I would define myself.

BHC: What is your favorite non-writing pastime?
Lenore: Laughing.

BHC: When did you decide to take that step that made you a published author?
Lenore: Ten years ago when I wrote my first book and sold it through a traditional publishing house.

BHC: What has been your greatest challenge as a writer? Have you been able to overcome it?
Lenore: The fear that I suck. And yes, I have overcome it. I stopped depending on someone else to tell me that I was great.

BHC: Is writing a full-time career for you? If not, how else do you spend your work day?
Lenore: Yes it is. I write in all forms and all media.

Questions about the Book and Characters:

BHC: If you had to sum it up BLUFF in 30 or less words, what would you say?
Lenore: I can’t.

BHC: What inspired the idea behind your book?
Lenore: My mother’s death.

BHC: Do you have a favorite character in BLUFF? Who and why?
Lenore: Hank. He’s the only one who is as he appears.

BHC: Without giving it all away, please tell us a little something about how (main character) is going to get through their biggest challenge.

Lenore: Introspection, forgiveness and acceptance.

BHC: What has been your greatest challenge in writing BLUFF?
Lenore: The editing. Even in the throes of final design, I changed things.

BHC: Will you share with us a short preview of BLUFF?

Lenore: Jude Black lives in that in-between, twilight place teetering on death but clinging to life in order to bring her baby into this world. Only she knows the circumstances surrounding her mysterious fall off the bluff that landed her in the hospital being kept alive by medical intervention. Only she knows who the father of her baby is. In this poignantly crafted literary novel, the mystery unfolds and the suspense builds as the consequences of Jude’s decisions threaten to reveal everyone’s deceptions, even her own. Bluff offers a sensitive look at essential questions such as the value of human life, the consciousness of those in a coma and the morality of terminating life support. At the core is the story of a tragically misunderstood woman who finds peace, acceptance, understanding and even love on her deathbed.

BHC:What message do you hope readers take away from the book?
Lenore: I want them to be forever changed.

BHC: What three words would best describe Jude?
Lenore: Depressed, self-consumed, human.

BHC: What is your favorite scene in Bluff?
Lenore: The final scene.

BHC: Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
Lenore: Yes, some of dialogue, many of the characters but the plot is fictitious.

BHC: Which character in BLUFF will be the most difficult to part with?
Lenore: Jude.

BHC: Do you share any personality traits with Jude?
Lenore: Other than having an emotionally tortured mother, no.

Questions about your writing process/research and:

BHC: What kind of research was involved for BLUFF?
Lenore: Tons of research into end of life issues, medical procedures, legal procedures, rape crisis, gun control, the Catholic Church and bioethics, the science of death.

BHC: Do you have to be alone or have quiet to write?
Lenore: No. I can write with a train crashing through my office. But I do prefer to write alone.

BHC: What has been your greatest pleasure in writing this book?
Lenore: Having everyone love it.

Questions about personal accomplishments/writing advice/work in progress:

BHC: What do you have in store next for your readers?
Lenore: A wonderful new novel entitled Third Willow, which takes the readers into the lives of four coming of age kids in the 1950s. I absolutely LOVE this book.

BHC: What has been your greatest pleasure or personal success as an author?
Lenore: Finding a home for myself.

Additional Questions:

BHC: What type of hero do you like best?
Lenore: A flawed, tragic one with a sardonic wit and unassuming qualities.

BHC: What type of heroine do you like best?
Lenore: Someone everyone would initially hate.

BHC: Is there any place and time in the world and in history that you would like to visit?
Lenore: Early 20th century America.

BHC: How do you unwind after a long writing session?
Lenore: Have a cocktail with my husband and chat it up.

BHC: Who or what has most influenced your writing?
Lenore: Time and maturity have given me the perspective and kick in ass to truly indulge in what I love.

BHC: Is there a genre you wish you could write, but haven’t made the plunge? Which one and what appeals to you about it?
Lenore: Erotica. What appeals to me is that it’s a challenge. I don’t read that genre and I don’t truly care about it, but it bugs me that I can’t write it because I can write just about everything else, including haikus.

BHC: What appeals to you most about your chosen genre?
Lenore: I love word smithery, and lit fic is all about that.

BHC: Do you have a favorite author? Who and why?
Lenore: I don’t have one fav author, but the ones who I admire take chances.

BHC: Why did you choose to be an Indie writer and would you choose to self-publish again?
Lenore: Control over final product, price, distribution, and my soul. And yes, yes I will again.

BHC: If you had a chance to rewrite, is there anything about your book you would change?
Lenore: I might find a better way to point to how Jude was found on the beach and I would also have integrated a little bit more insight into Jude’s final thoughts.

BHC: What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve received?
Lenore: Finish it.

BHC: What are you reading now? Why did you choose that book?
Lenore: The Art of Letting Go by Guy Finley because it has been instrumental in positioning my mindset for the release of BLUFF into the world.

BHC: Which authors and books have most influenced your writing style?
Lenore: Tennessee Wiliiams, Harper Lee, Edgar Allen Poe, Paolo Coehlo, Chuck Palahniuk

BHC: Does where you live or have places you’ve been influenced your work?
Lenore: Of course. They create the details and fill in the sensory experiences in all of my work.

BHC: Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?
Lenore: I make no bones about the fact I love writing about death. And I am certain it will be revisited many times in my upcoming work.

BHC: What challenges did you face in getting your first book published?
Lenore: Understanding the universe with a universe called Cyberspace. I still don’t quite get it, but it’s been a powerful ride.

BHC: How long did it take to get this book from idea to being published? What was the most grueling process?
Lenore: About three months once I made my mind up that I was going to publish it. The hardest part has been marketing it.

BHC: What was one of the most surprising things you learned while writing BLUFF?
Lenore: I never knew that fictitious characters could talk to you. That was a bit of a mindblower.

BHC: Do you have any interesting writing quirks?
Lenore: I write by candlelight. And if the candle goes out and I can’t relight it, then I stop writing.

BHC: When did you write your first book and how old were you?
Lenore: My first book was written in 2001. I was 42.

BHC: What is your favorite movie based on a book, where you preferred the movie?
Lenore: To Kill a Mockingbird.

BHC: Laptop, desktop or notebook and pen for writing?
Lenore: All of the above, plus napkins.

BHC: Do you believe in writer’s block? Has it ever happened to you?
Lenore: Yes and no. Writing is a discipline, not a whim. If the muse isn’t upon you, you have to bang down his door, grab him out of bed and wake him up.

BHC:Is there a book you’ve ever read more than five times? Which book and what drew you back to it?
Lenore: No. But I have read The Little Prince four times. The simplicity, the philosophy, the tenderness and emotion. I don’t know really why. It just touches my heart with its innocence. I completely appreciate what a work of art it is.

BHC: Have you ever literally deleted or thrown away a book you’ve written?
Lenore: Oh yes. I have several, but none of them have been finished or even near completion. And all of the novels have always ended up morphed or folded into another work. Nothing really ever gets deleted.

Where can your readers find you?

My website: www.lenoreskomal.com

My blog: www.goodreads.com/author/show/408866.Lenore_Skomal/blog
My Goodreads author page: www.goodreads.com/author/show/408866.Lenore_Skomal
Twitter: http://twitter.com/lmskomal
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B001HCWDFA
Other: Facebook
Is your book in Print, ebook or both? Both

Make sure you follow this link for your chance to win a copy of Bluff:http://fmbblogtours.blogspot.com/2012/09/tour-schedule-bluff-by-lenore-skomal.html

2 thoughts on “Black Hippie Chick’s Interview of Lenore Skomal, author of Bluff

Leave a Reply

