Author Rachel Wade Interviews Professor Ryan Campbell from Preservation


20120727-080511.jpg

A Chat with Professor Ryan Campbell from Preservation

I’m honored to stop by the blog today to chat with Ryan Campbell, the leading man in my latest contemporary romance, Preservation. Ryan teaches Creative Writing in Seattle, WA and has just recently finished his own novel, which is set to release later this year.

Me: Welcome, Ryan. Thanks for chatting with me today.

Ryan: Oh, the pleasure’s all mine, Ms. Wade.

Me: Um, it’s Mrs., actually. I’m married.

Ryan: What a shame. Perhaps you’ll reconsider that title by the end of this interview.

Me: Nope. Don’t think so. It’s documented. *grins*I thought you were a one-woman kind of man now.

Ryan: Ah, touché, Ms. Wade. *grins back* Kate knows she’s my girl. What can I say? Old habits die hard.

Me: Ahem. Mrs. It’s Mrs. *dramatic eye roll* Anyway, speaking of Kate, I hear she studied creative writing with you before she signed a publication deal for her debut novel. How did you feel about teaching a rising star in the world of literature?

Ryan: It was quite…educational. Kate’s voice is strong, certain, and passionate. Her ability to read people is what makes her writing so realistic, so accessible. It’s what makes her characters come to life and walk right off the pages. Aside from witnessing her talent firsthand, teaching her offered other advantages. I’m sure she benefited as well.

Me: *clears throat* What kinds of advantages?

Ryan: Apparently, the kinds that make your cheeks blush. You’re looking a little flushed, are you feeling alright?

Me: Yes, yes I’m fine. Moving on. What do you like to do in your spare time when you’re not writing or teaching?

Ryan: Well, you can usually find me swimming laps or watching live music around town. I love catching shows at Easy Street Records when I have time.

Me: Easy Street is great. I’ve been there a few times when I’ve been in the Seattle area.

Ryan: I’m partial to the Queen Anne store myself. It’s close to my apartment.

Me: So, music and swimming are your favorite pastimes?

Ryan: For the most part, yeah. And taking Kate to concerts. Pretty much anything that involves Kate interests me.

Me: Speaking of music, I hear Kate’s best friends, Carter and Dean, are musicians. They seem pretty crazy about her. Sounds like you have a little competition, ay?

Ryan: There’s no competition there.

Me: Really?

Ryan: Yes, really. Is there something you’re getting at, Ms. Wade?

Me: Well, I’ve seen their band The Hellions play a few times…and I must say, they’re good-looking guys, that’s all. And they seem to care about her a lot, so—

Ryan: That’s immaterial. They’re just friends. Can we move on, please?

Me: Snippy, snippy. No need to get your feathers ruffled.

Ryan: Oh, they’re quite ruffled now, thank you. Next question?

Me: Oookay. So, care to tell us what inspired your debut novel?

Ryan: All sorts of things, really. But I drew from real-life experience and a past relationship gone wrong. My relationship with Kate also inspired me, more so than anything else, I think. She’s a great muse.

Me: I hear she’s pretty stubborn. Does her headstrong personality inspire you as well?

Ryan: I do love a good challenge, so yes. She keeps me on my toes and I feel like a better man when I’m in her presence. I’d like to think that fondness is mutual, but I have a tendency to piss her off, so…

Me: You? Piss someone off? I can’t imagine how that would ever happen.

Ryan: Ah, you carry the smartass gene as well, I see. You and Kate would get along great.

Me: Annnddd that’s my cue, folks. Looks like that’s all the time we have today. Thanks again Ryan, for such an…enlightening interview.

Ryan: Yes, it’s been very stimulating. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a meeting with Kate in the campus lounge in thirty minutes. We uh, have some paperwork to take care of. I do hope that blush goes away soon…

Preservation by Rachael Wade is now available in paperback and Kindle e-book from Amazon.com. If you love paranormal romance and fantasy, also check out Rachael’s other books, Amaranth and The Gates (books 1 and 2 of the Resistance Trilogy) now at Amazon.

20120727-080550.jpg

10 thoughts on “Author Rachel Wade Interviews Professor Ryan Campbell from Preservation

  1. I’m taking the second class out of three, Creative Writing for Educators. The funniest thing is that I’d taken the first planning to work on some YA material, but after completing a writing prompt that all totally changed. I’m working on a memoir, and it turns out I’m also rather fond of creative nonfiction.

    • That’s great, Kamala. I’d imagine writing creative nonfiction would be tough. I think I’d have a hard time with it, but it sounds interesting. Best of luck with your memoir and your classes!

  2. Pingback: Author Rachel Wade Interviews Professor Ryan Campbell from … | Spring Break Family Vacation Packages

Leave a comment